Skip to content

Random Thought: I Hate When…

November 1, 2010

Okay let me change that. I kinda hate when people come into work after the weekend ends, saying “Happy Monday!”

Okay I’m not trying to be negative or anything but….it’s Monday. No, I am not happy it’s Monday, so even if you are, please don’t say “Happy Monday” to me.

You are lucky I’m awake, let alone fully focused and conversing at this hour. I’m naturally NOT a morning person at all, but three years of living through the New York hustle as well as my occupation, has forced me to act like one.

Don’t get me wrong, I am VERY blessed to be able to wake up another day, still having all of my five senses, my health, a roof over my head, my family, clothes on my back, food, and etc, etc. I really try not to take everything for granted since I know there are so many people who don’t have those things.

But it’s MONDAY.

You saying “Happy Monday” to me reminds me that I still have a full week of working everyday. I really don’t need that reminder.

Oh and the kicker: people who say “Happy Monday!” then the next day, “Happy Tuesday!” and so on….

I don’t want a countdown of what day it is. When in doubt, just say good morning (oddly enough, hearing someone say that doesn’t remind me that I still have the afternoon to get through as well as the rest of the day). Or  feel free to say “Happy Friday!” when that day comes around.

It may sound like I’m in a bad mood, but I’m really not….I’m just saying!..

Note: Sorry if I reminded you that it is Monday by writing this post. I in no way want to be hypocritical.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

