Skip to content

The Kimmaytube Leave-In is the ISH!

February 2, 2011

Despite what I’ve said in a previous post, I’d have to say the biggest pitfall of  transitioning has been….

Dun Dun Dun…..!

Detangling my hair.

Welp, until a month ago.

So while I was at home in California, I showed my mom some of the blogs I go to when it comes to my natural hair obsession and some of the YouTube channels I stalk. We ran across a video of Kimmaytube (the natural hair guru) giving a tutorial of how to create the perfectly PH balanced leave in conditioner that she uses regularly. My mom asked me if I wanted to try the concoction and of course I said yes. So that night we headed to the health food store and got all the ingredients.

To make the leave-in you need:

  • 2 tbsp of Kinky Curly Knot Today
  • 2 tbsp of Aloe Vera Juice
  • 2 teasp of castor oil
  • 2 teasp of jojoba oil

Mix all ingredients together. Refrigerate after using.

When I mixed it, it ended up being kind of runny, but a smooth consistency. But I have to note that we tried finding Kinky Curly at the health food store we went to but they didn’t carry it, and the nearest Whole Foods ran out, so I made the executive decision to use Giovanni’s Direct-Leave In as a substitute for the Kinky Curly. Kimmaytube does say in the video that you can use a sub for the Kinky Curly anyways, so it was all good.

I used just as Kimmay directed, right after washing and conditioning my hair once I was out the shower. As I was detangling each small section of my hair I would apply a little of the concoction and run the comb through.

Let me tell you…..That detangling session was the.EASIEST. detangling.session I. ever. had.

Check out the pic below of how much hair I lost.

Can you believe this is the only hair that came from detangling?/photo by intreegme

I can’t remember the last time I lost this little hair after washing. Honestly I was truly amazed. Since then, my detangling sessions have been a breeze.  To the point where I’m tempted, sooo tempted, to move back my expected big chop date of June 2011 until later. BUT, I’ve promised myself I would make the chop then so that is what I will stick to.

Well at least my transition for the next 5 months will be more painless. <ThankGod>

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

