Skip to content

Hair Boredom/Hair Rant

March 14, 2011

I’m 14 months post relaxer and am done. I’m tired of doing my hair, tired of detangling, tired of moisturizing, tired of styling, fixing, primping, and tired of bantu knotting. I could switch up my style and try twist and curls, braid outs, pin curls, and what not, but I don’t want to…I’m just plain TIRED.

It’s times like these where I see why girls shave their heads.

Times like these I wish I could pull off a hairstyle like this...Easy, breezy, beautiful, Amber Rose

With a  bald head the only thing that can make you late in the morning is figuring out what to wear. You never have to worry about your hair (or lack of) getting messed up while you sleep. You never have to worry about rain wetting it, or if the wind blows it back the wrong way. Detangling sessions are extinct. It’s the epitome of “wash and go”….It’s just simple.

The only times I’ve had to experience these wonderful pleasures is when I’ve had cornrows or braids with extensions in the past. And as much as I loved rocking cornrows, in my book, they are really out of style. And as far as micro braids go, they aren’t my cup of tea, as I cannot fathom sitting for hours on end getting them put in and spending even more time taking them out.

And going bald? Ehh kind of out of the question for me. First of all, I have no hook (i.e. curvature in the back of my head). And secondly if I did decide to shave my head, I know as soon as that last strand of hair hits the ground I would either:

a) bawl my eyes out

and/or

b) miss my hair immediately

I honestly tip my hat off to any girl who shaves her head. It’s a big deal. But the closest I’ve come to wanting to shave my head is wanting to cut my hair short like a Halle Berry/Kelis/Rihanna. And I never did it because I didn’t think the cut would fit with my face since my head is big..lol.

But I digress.

I am to the point where I’m pretty much blogged out. Blogged out meaning tired of scouring natural hair blogs for the next new thing I can learn about hair that I don’t even have yet. I’m tired of looking at product reviews of products that I probably won’t buy. And I dare to say that I am actually tired of looking at Youtube hair videos <gasp! shocker>

I kind of want to go on a hair hiatus until my BC date comes around. I’ve been longing for kinky twists or a nice curly weave like Kelly Rowland used to wear.

I love this look! Someone send me this hair pronto!/hairisbest.com

I’ve already decided to ditch buying any more hair products until my BC date (unless I run out of the products I like). I just don’t know how many more conditioners and sprays I can use! I will just use what’s been working for me…there’s absolutely no reason to change my regime to “find what my hair likes” when I’m cutting the majority of my hair off in a matter of months.

Hair hiatus will “probably, maybe” begin AFTER a new venture I’ve decided to embark on which is Youtubing.

Okay, okay yes you did read correctly/And yes I was just complaining about being tired of watching videos…but not actually making them.

There’s not a lot of transitioning videos on the net so I thought I could help bring some more. As soon as I get my camera set up and actually figure out what I’m doing, it’s on and poppin’.

SIDE NOTE: I will continue blogging about my own hair experiences. I have not gotten tired of that 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 4:01 pm

    I cried when I cut my hair. I cried a lot.

  2. Lhassell permalink
    May 2, 2011 10:36 am

    Cut it, cut it, cut it!!!

  3. July 8, 2011 1:50 pm

    head hook? : /

    • August 9, 2011 8:39 pm

      Yeahup the hook is the back part of your head. The curve from your neck to the top of your head. I barely have a hook! lol.

  4. January 11, 2013 12:17 am

    Hi there mates, nice paragraph and pleasant arguments commented at this place, I am genuinely enjoying
    by these.

Leave a Reply

