Skip to content

Wedding Crashing

March 15, 2011

It’s been a long time since I’ve gone to a wedding. The last time I went to a wedding was six years ago! But I love going to weddings. What’s not to love- you get a chance to dress up, watch two people in love exchange vows, then go off to party the night away with free dinner, cake, champagne at the reception. Yes, I’m a sucker for free cake and champagne…who isn’t?

Okay, you are probably going to think the rest of this post is one big joke but I’m serious…My friend and I have an idea that this summer that we are going wedding crashing. You have read correctly.  No one I know is getting married and I want to go to a wedding, so hey, why not take matters into my own hands…right?

Crashing a wedding or two is not only a task on my bucket list, I feel it can also be a beneficial practice for my acting career in more ways than one. Going to a place you don’t belong and acting like you do, is a facade that a lot of people can’t pull off, and let’s just say that it’s a facade that I need to work on.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve crashed parties before, but I think a party is on the “Easy Level” when it comes to crashing an event. People usually don’t keep track of who is invited, and if you look the part of someone who belongs, then it’s a heck of a lot easier to get in. Because of the meticulous planning, invites, seating chart at the reception, and most importantly: familiarity of those invited, I can imagine a wedding being harder to crash,

The movie “Wedding Crashers” does serve as inspiration. And I know we should probably watch the movie a few times more and take notes before we go out and do the damn thing, but I’m thinking maybe we should start on a smaller scale. We should hit up family reunions first….straight up Janet Jackson and Regina King “Poetic Justice” style.

I can never forget how they all rolled up in the mail truck on the scene like it was nothing.

Check out the crashing at the 5:20 mark.

Mind you, there were so many people at that family reunion, it would’ve been hard to discover someone not actually being related. But maybe this is the route I need to start off with, and then graduate to the “Intermediate Level” of crashing weddings depending on my confidence level. Starting with crashing some picnics at Central Park and working our way up…hmmm I will see.. :-p

Have you ever crashed an event (someone’s wedding, picnic, party, etc)? If so, how did you do it successfully? If you were unsuccessful, how did you get caught?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Lhassell permalink
    May 2, 2011 10:35 am

    I’ve never crashed a formal event, but it sounds like an adventure I’ld be down for trying. 🙂

  2. December 25, 2012 6:37 pm

    I am actually glad to read this website posts which includes lots of helpful facts, thanks for providing
    these kinds of data.

  3. December 27, 2012 12:10 pm

    Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a
    similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam remarks?
    If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any help is very much appreciated.

  4. December 27, 2012 12:14 pm

    Very shortly this site will be famous amid all blog viewers, due to
    it’s nice articles or reviews

  5. January 22, 2013 7:34 pm

    It’s really a great and helpful piece of info. I’m glad that you simply
    shared this useful info with us. Please keep us
    up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  6. January 23, 2013 9:45 pm

    For most up-to-date news you have to pay a visit the web and on the web
    I found this website as a finest website for hottest
    updates.

  7. January 24, 2013 1:43 am

    I am extremely impressed together with your writing skills as smartly as
    with the format to your weblog. Is that this a paid theme or did you customize
    it yourself? Either way stay up the nice high quality writing,
    it is uncommon to look a nice weblog like this one these days.
    .

  8. January 24, 2013 5:30 am

    always i used to read smaller content that as well clear their
    motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am reading
    at this place.

  9. January 26, 2013 11:05 am

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was once a entertainment account it.

    Look advanced to more delivered agreeable from you!
    However, how could we communicate?

  10. February 1, 2013 2:18 am

    Fine way of telling, and good paragraph to get information about my presentation focus, which
    i am going to convey in institution of higher education.

  11. April 2, 2013 11:50 pm

    I truly love your website.. Great colors & theme. Did you develop this web
    site yourself? Please reply back as I’m looking to create my very own blog and would love to learn where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

